Topics Forums Frogs – Pixies, Pacmans, & More! Pixie frog won’t come out of hiding

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
    Posts Favorite

Jessey
      Participant

Hello,
      I am new to the pixie frog world. I have a ball python and a leopard gecko but the pixie is way different. He went into hiding a week ago and I keep looking for him and can’t find him. His humidity stays at 85% and I mist it daily with dechlorinated water. I am bioactive so I have really good substrates, sprag moss, pillow moss, and pet friendly plants that I learned about in my bioactive group and a ton of research. He has a big tub of water with river rocks and a big lava rock that he can use to get in and out of the water. The temp on the cool side stays about 75 and the temp on the warm side is around 82. I am not sure if he is eating but as it is bioactive I have Dubia roaches, isopods, springtails, earth worms, and millipedes running around in there so I’m not worried about him starving. I even caught some of the Dubia and dusted them with calcium just in case. But it’s been over a week since I’ve even seen a sign of him. I even have some shelf lining that covers part of the screen top that I heavily mist so it drips throughout the day like rain. Why won’t he come out of hiding?

Zoodulcis

Hi Jessey,

There may be a number of reasons why he is in hiding, some quite simple and some a little less so. It may be that he has come out at a time when you have not noticed him and then gone back into hiding, but for now let’s assume that this is not the case.

#1 Since he has access to prey items all of the time, it is possible that he gorged himself and is now just taking time out for a respite from eating. Although not terribly common, other keepers have reported that theirs have done this.