Topics Forums Frogs – Pixies, Pacmans, & More! Pixie Frog Feeding Routines?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts Favorite

melishkia
      Participant
      Pixie Frog Feeding Routines?

HI!
      I’m new to the African Bullfrog- we recently acquired one about 3 weeks ago and have been thoroughly enjoying taking care of this big guy. He/she is still young, but eating larger prey like large crickets, superworms, and just a few waxworms. I was planning on feeding a frozen mouse soon and maybe trying dubia roaches. So far, he has a great appetite and seems to be very content in the set up I have for him. He’s growing fast so I know this won’t last long.. but he’s in a 10g with coconut fiber, moss layered on the top, one live plant, and a small water dish to soak in. The temp is usually about 79-81 during the day and down to 76 at night. Humidity is 70-75%. Each day, I change his water dish with dechlorinated water, during that time he gets to soak in a plastic tub of water for about 20 mins then switch to a new tub of water for another 20 mins.

I am a little lost when it comes to feeding- I have found 2 different methods. 1) To feed the frog for 15 mins as many insects as he’s willing to take, or 2) to limit the amount of insects to about 6 large crickets/superworms/whatever. I have tried both methods, I kind of felt like he completely overate with the first method so I just wanted to know if others have suggestions.. I almost don’t think the Pixie frog ever feels “FULL” being why I don’t know if this is a good method. I have been feeding him daily but if he’s big enough I can back off to every other day or so. Thanks for reading!

melishkia
      Participant

a photo of “Spike” soaking in his tub

Zoodulcis