Topics Forums Leopard Geckos Help boy or girl

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts 1 Favorite

isabella w
      Participant
      Help boy or girl

Breeder said they picked a girl out for me, but now I’m starting to believe my gecko Mira is a dude

ABMoore22
      Participant

The only way a breeder could have made sure you got a fmale is if they kept the egg at a specific temp. You can’t really tell wat they re until they get a few month old.

I’m no pro, but this looks like a male to me. I see femoral pores an a slight bulge at the base of tail. Its quite rare for a female to have the pores. Bulges are a tiny bit small for me to say for sure but, If the bulge keeps getting bigger, I’d say male 100%. I hv a male and they’re plenty friendly and live longer than females, so I hope that make you feel a little better. I’m sure Zoo wi reply to this, she is a pro. Lol. 😆

ChickenMann123
        Participant

Daaaaang! I would have honsetly never knew that. Seems like you know your gecko facts!

ABMoore22
          Participant

Well, now youve learned something new! lol. Leopard Geckos are one of my favorite reptiles. I read/watch anything that has any animal information in it and Ive also been on this forum for a while now and have learned even more since ive been here. Zoo (other person who commented here) is a encyclopedia all to herself and isnt afraid to share her wealth of knowledge.

ChickenMann123
          Participant

Zoodulcis? She does seem like a very knowledgeable person! I also see her commenting on many other peoples posts like you do

ABMoore22
          Participant

Yup. She was a Zoologist and pretty much runs this forum. Im just a huge animal nerd that rescues, rehabs and rehomes. Ive met wonderful vets who have taught me a lot as well as learning all i can on my own. I just like to kinda pay it forward to anyone who needs any info i may have.

ChickenMann123
          Participant

Thats really nice, good for you!

Zoodulcis