Topics Forums Crested Geckos Crested Gecko randomly freezes? Halp

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
    Posts Favorite

Steffan
      Participant

Hello everyone!

My crested gecko Timone recently started to stiffen up as if he’s frozen. I’m not sure if I should be worried or not because after a little bit, he’s back to normal and moving around his terrarium like nothing happened. I was hand feeding him for a few minutes and all of a sudden he just stops eating/responding to me trying to feed him. He is a fairly healthy little dude and he’s almost 2 years old. Any idea why he might be doing this? I’ve only come across “your crested gecko might be dead” posts on Google and they’re not very helpful. Just to check, I shined light into his eye and his pupil still dilated. He is unresponsive when I pet him and he is still breathing normally.

Zoodulcis

Wow, that’s bizarre. It sounds like a seizure. I will do some research and get back to you shortly.

Zoodulcis

Ok, and I’m not an expert in this, but it makes sense to me. He may be in the early stages of MBD, metabolic bone disease. Lack of calcium or improper calcium to phosphorous ratio is the likely cause. Some crested geckos first display a seizure-like episode shaking and spasms. Some begin with paralysis, and then get worse, with spasms or even hind leg paralysis occuring. Eventually the bones will soften in the jaw and the spine. Death is a strong possibility.

What sort of vitamin powder and calcium supplement do you have him on? Does he have a UV lamp?

Steffan
          Participant